Forum rss-feed

Forum

General Discussion: EigenTab key/scale/chord helper app available

Most Recent

written by: mikemilton

John, the idea of stepping through is neat. That said, even without show me or stepping, EigenTab makes working out things much easier

written by: jsn

Sun, 3 Apr 2011 10:11:00 +0100 BST

When I first got my Pico I found it great for improvisation but extremely frustrating for playing pieces I had in books, in my head or on the backs of envelopes (literally) that were essentially chord sequences. This was mainly due to not being a trained musician and being able to look and say, "oh, that's clearly Eb dorian". So, as I am a programmer, I wrote myself an application to help me - which I am now sharing freely with the rest of you.

EigenTab takes a set of chords and tells you which key/scale to configure on your Eigenharp. It also shows you the key-shapes to play for those chords. It can be used online or can be save to use offline on the desktop or iPad/iPhone.

It has a few limitations currently:
- only does scales with up to 8-notes
- doesn't allow for custom key layouts
- only been applied to the Pico. If someone will give me a Tau and/or Alpha I will test those, too :-)

I am very interested in feedback and open to any suggestions on improvements/corrections.

Right now my to do list includes:
- scales with more than 8 notes
- custom scales (if one doesn't exist EigenTab tells you what to configure)
- hide editor controls so you can get 'pretty-printable' chord diagrams
- button to show all applicable chord diagrams for a key/scale
- ability to add 'lyric rows' so you can have words, too
- prioritization of key/scale by greatest range of notes

written by: barnone

Sun, 3 Apr 2011 23:11:26 +0100 BST

Well I for one tried it out and it's awesome.

Huge thanks for spending the time and sharing this.