Forum rss-feed

Forum

Software: Documents for Developers

Most Recent

written by: barnone

Great news on imminent open sourcing John.

This will be a very important milestone and fulfillment of the original promise which I thank you for.

written by: jsn

Sun, 27 Mar 2011 17:56:23 +0100 BST

I recently was given a Pico which I love! However, I feel there are a few bits of missing software which would make it much more accessible to the untrained musician - such as myself. As a professional software developer I would happily write them and publish them freely, however, I find there is no documentation about reading/writing to EigenD from other software.

Any chance of some docs, or preferably examples? I'm willing to lend a hand if pointed in the right direction.

Please open the architecture up to guys like me!

Let me be clear: I am not asking you to open-source EigenD, I just want some API/protocol access so I can read/set values through software

written by: john

Sun, 27 Mar 2011 20:41:49 +0100 BST

We are about to opensource the software for real under the GPL. We have been wanting to do this for ages, but pressure of time has held us up. This should be sometime in the next few weeks now as I do feel that its about time we did what we said we were going to do over a year ago. It's mostly a matter of putting all the licence stuff in the source files and getting the GIT repository in shape. This is really boring work so it's hard to find the motivation. There will be a contributor agreement (like Ubuntu's). Feel free to nag me about this, I was in fact literally just thinking about it when I saw your post in a nice piece of synchronicity ...