Forum rss-feed

Forum

Alpha: Scales

Most Recent

written by: 0beron

I think the way round you describe it is the way round I meant - so the right hand is playing bass and melody on the lower keygroup, which is split vertically. So I'd play the Alpha in what seems to be the conventional orientation.

Will be interesting to play since on a conventional keyboard you acheive large octave gaps only with the two hands - a vertical keygroup split essentially gives one hand a multi-octave reach.

I play the yamaha WX5 wind controller mainly, but also self taught keyboard to a not-very-high level of ability...

So once a keygroup is made and plumbed in, does part of the plumbing set up the locations and presence or otherwise of the various sub menus? Pressing the keygroup mode key in the factory setups gets you a consistent set of options (instruments, drummer, scheduler, recorder, scales, MIDI etc..), but with a vertical split the keygroup can't accommodate them in the normal locations since it's only 2 or 3 keys wide. I suppose certain sub modes like the drummer controls are configured to rely on a keygroup of 5 columns, (although I suppose they could be rewired if you wanted to). Other things like scales are probably better left out of the narrow keygroups, and scales can then be changed from a wide keygroup by using the scale mode key to point at the new narrow groups?

If keygroups are contained within other keygroups, does this mean that the parent keygroup retains its own mode key, and that some of the keys in the parent are in fact mode keys for the child keygroups? Can the recorder arming and octave controls be placed individually? Or indeed left out for a particular keygroup?

Ooops, bit of a brain dump there.

How time consuming would it be to make: