Forum rss-feed

Forum

Pico: My pico dream

Most Recent

written by: TheTechnobear

EigenD runs on macOS/Windows/Linux only. not iOS.
so you cannot connect your eigenharp directly to an iPad/iPhone.

The reference to the iOS application is for Stage.
Stage allows you to control various parameters of EigenD (running on your computer) from you iPhone/iPad, but you still need EigenD running on your computer to connect your Eigenharp too.

http://www.eigenlabs.com/wiki/2.0/Stage/

I'm not sure if Stage, is currently available on the App Store, I cannot find it either (in Spain).

written by: natcl

Thu, 31 Jan 2013 15:23:55 +0000 GMT

I just started using the Pico again after 2 years of inactivity.
The main reason is that I started playing around with all the new iPad synths and they work great with the Pico.

My ultimate fantasy would be some kind of base station for the pico. You would plug the pico in it, it would power the pico and act as an hardware pico-to-midi converter that would be class compliant so it could be hooked to the iPad. I have high doubts that this will ever happen but that for me would make the Pico much more practical.

I'm also wondering if this would be possible using something like a Raspberry pi. I know EigenD can work under linux, perhaps it could compile on the arm platform and we could run a midi only setup from there. No idea if it would be powerful enough.

Fri, 1 Feb 2013 16:01:13 +0000 GMT

This would rather depend on if eigenlabs was willing to port eigenD to linux,
or if the libpico source will move to open source within the Eigen foundation.

the eigen foundation post said all of the eigend software would be transferred, but it could be the 'drivers' are considerd as containing hardware intellectual property.
perhaps john could comment?

Fri, 1 Feb 2013 17:05:04 +0000 GMT

Ah I thought that the pico driver was also open....

Fri, 1 Feb 2013 17:14:19 +0000 GMT

Would the binary driver also work on an arm architecture or just x86 ?